William J. Krull, (1891-1974), born and raised in nearby Palmer, an unincorporated town near Winfield and Crown Point, Indiana. Graduated in 1913 from Valparaiso University where he earned a degree in Civil Engineering, member of the Civil Engineering Society, played football and was a good musician. Bill was a Registered Civil Engineer and Land Surveyor in the State of Indiana and a Registered Land Surveyor in the State of Illinois. He worked for Walter Black, a local surveyor and at the age of 23 bought the surveying firm in November of 1914; the firm's name was Wm. J. Krull, CE, Civil Engineer and Surveyor, originally located in the AmericanTrust and Savings Bank building in downtown Hobart, IN. Bill was city engineer for the Town (now City) of Hobart for 28 years, for the Town of East Gary (now City Lake Station) for 16 years and retired after serving in the same capacity for the Town of Porter for an impressive 42 years. Also served as city engineer for the Town of Chesterton and the Town (now City) of Crown Point, IN.; he was a man of wide experience. Bill was instrumental in the development of Northwest Indiana during the early-mid 20th century; one of his early accomplishments was designing the Hobart dam. Bill also along with his brothers, Fred and Howard Krull owned a construction company, Krull Brothers Construction Co., and built post war homes in the area. Bill ran as a Republican candidate for Lake County Surveyor over the years, never able to beat his Democratic candidates. Bill was a 50-year member of the Masonic Lodge, a Charter Member of the Hobart Lions Club, a 49-year member of the local Orak Shrine and married 56 years to wife, Myrtle Wild Krull.
1325 S. Lake Park Avenue, Hobart, IN 46342-5967 (219) 947-2568
COPYRIGHT 2011-2013 "KRULL SURVEYING" ALL RIGHTS RESERVED